Surabaya en Yogyakarta - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Bobby Tim Espelo - WaarBenJij.nu Surabaya en Yogyakarta - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Bobby Tim Espelo - WaarBenJij.nu

Surabaya en Yogyakarta

Door: Ome Tim

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Bobby Tim

31 Mei 2007 | Indonesië, Batavia

I'm back!!!

It feels great being back OFF the beaten track that has haunted me for the last month and a half. After the relatively touristic Bali I am back in no mans land.

I took the bus and ferry from Kuta to Surabaya on Java where I arrived at 5 o'clock in the morning, no clue where to go and ofcourse the people there didn't speak english as well as on Bali... Ma af, saya tidak berbicara Bahasa Indonesia (Sorry, I don't speak Indonesian). After been dragged around too expansives from hotel to hotel in the taxi I was able to use internet in one of the hotels.

There I found the one and only hostel in Surabaya... located at the other end of town. But maybe there are other tourist there so hop on another taxi and a good half an hour later I arrived...

Was it closed or just deserted? No there was someone, yes!!! I nice lady welcomed me and told me she just openend 6 months ago and that there where no other guest right now, but there would be some Malaysian guests tomorrow. Nice I was far from the city centre in one of the poorer regions of town. But the lady seemed nice and I decided to stay and rest after my 12 hour long journey.

The lady her name was Diana and she was very friendly!!! I borrowed her pink bike to go to the internet cafe, can you imagine the faces of the people seeing a big white dude on a pink bike cruzin' town?. We had a nice long chat about world politics and other matters. She washed my cloths, prepared breakfast and lunch and dinner and breakfast and lunch again the next day al for the price of one night and would let me pay extra!!!

Today I took the train to Yogyakarta (the place heavily stuck by an earthquake a couple of years ago) where I just arrived atter 8 hours sitting on a small bench 'talking' with all the locals.
Tomorrow a vistit to a temple where the biggest Indonesian Buddhist celebration is held. Then I have to find out how to get to Jakarta and think of a place to celebrated my birthday or whatever...

To be continued!!!

Dikke kus,

Ome Tim

  • 02 Juni 2007 - 10:21

    Matthijs:

    Hey Timytom!

    Don't forget to visit the Borobodur, touristy but one of the World wonders non the less.

    If you plan to go to Thailand visit Krabi (take a boat from there to one of the beaches) AWSOME climbing, you'll love it.

    And don't forget the parinthian islands in Malasia .... mean i envy you!

    Enjoy the ride dude,

    Matt

  • 02 Juni 2007 - 14:30

    Men, Win, Kiddo's:

    Dude, Happy Birthday to you. Might be a while before you read the message being in 'no-mans-land'. Have fun and stay out of trouble.
    Love,
    USA family

  • 02 Juni 2007 - 18:23

    MOM:

    Ventje!! Van harte gefeliciteerd met je hoeveelste-ook-al-weer-wat-maakt-het-uit?? verjaardag. Geen idee waar je nu uithangt, maar ik weet dat er veel mensen aan je denken en vandaag vooral. Ik ben nog altijd en iedere keer opnieuw onder de indruk van je verhalen. En ik weet dat je nog veel meer meemaakt, wat je niet allemaal kunt opschrijven.
    Geniet en dat doe je en heb een fijne verjaardag en dat er nog heel veel mogen volgen!!

    XXX mom

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Indonesië, Batavia

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

17 September 2007

The last message in the digital bottle

15 September 2007

Lounchen in Dahab

11 September 2007

Sphynx and pyramids

09 September 2007

A salaam aleikum (and mountain bike safari's!!!)

06 September 2007

Hop, hop, HOP.
Bobby Tim

Actief sinds 13 Aug. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 268
Totaal aantal bezoekers 85538

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Augustus 2006 - 21 Augustus 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: