Selamat Jalan!!! - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Bobby Tim Espelo - WaarBenJij.nu Selamat Jalan!!! - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Bobby Tim Espelo - WaarBenJij.nu

Selamat Jalan!!!

Door: Ome Tim

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Bobby Tim

10 Juni 2007 | Indonesië, Batavia

Where to start... just arrived in Dumai with my new Romania Friend Cris after a wrecking 30 + hours on busses from Jakarta... what a city is that.

Can you imagine about 25 million people living in that city???

When I came in on the train from Yogya I saw the worst slumbs I ever seen before (even throughout Latin America). The smog is so dense you cannot see the sun in the middle of the day, you can't even seen the skyscrapers two blocks away clearly. When I walked to the streets I wanted to keep on smoking rather than to breath the air, at least then I was breathing trough some sort of a filter!!!

I stayed in Jalan Jaksa, the touristy area of the center and at least a very ineteresting one!!! Of course I try to seen some of the attractions there, like the Old Kota (which means town) formerly known as Batavia. Or the independence monument, both of Indonesia and the one from Irian Yaya and the Freedom Mosque. But the lasts days I fled into the cinema and watched three movie just to get away from it for a while.

From there I met Cris and we decided to cross into Sumatra by land (and ferry), not by cheaper airways.

It was an interesting adventure. Much like the bus tours I took in Latin America. After a couple of 'scams' a lot of doubtful stories, crooked information and a dodge transfer we just arrived in Dumai where we can catch the ferry to Malaka (Malaysia), which should be interesting because it was the former centre of business in this area.

Sumatra proofed to be different from Java, especially in the south were we had seen it with our own eyes (beautiful, untouched and authentic landscape and many sawas) and supposedly in the north with rain forrest and Orang Utangs. That will be on the list the next time.

My time here was great, from my re acquaintance with Bali, to the City's in Java and the big road (fancy word) trip on Sumatra. Had a lot of 'special moments', with people that are 'such a contribution to their nation' and of course a rice dish every meal: I just love the food here (gado gado, sate(!), nasi goreng soto ayam and loads of sambal).

Nexxt on the list Malaysia and the up to Thailand!!!

Keep y'all informed. Dikke kus,


Timotheus
PS: and I have to stop smoking Kretek, hahaha!!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Indonesië, Batavia

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

17 September 2007

The last message in the digital bottle

15 September 2007

Lounchen in Dahab

11 September 2007

Sphynx and pyramids

09 September 2007

A salaam aleikum (and mountain bike safari's!!!)

06 September 2007

Hop, hop, HOP.
Bobby Tim

Actief sinds 13 Aug. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 178
Totaal aantal bezoekers 85315

Voorgaande reizen:

21 Augustus 2006 - 21 Augustus 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: